Wednesday, May 23, 2007

Food Update

Frito-Lay
Earlier this month, Frito-Lay updated their website. Check this out for a list of their products that are free of "porcine enzymes." The products listed are essentially free of ingredients derived from pork, not all animals. So if you are a Zabihah adherent, this information is of no use to you!

(Please note: certain favorites like the Flaming Hot Cheetos are NOT on the pork free list. So make sure to read carefully.)


Masterfoods
"Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.

Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.
. . .
Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October."

3 comments:

Angie Ellaboudy said...

the less access to junk food the better.. alhamduliLah !! :)

Samina said...

actuallay....http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20070520/od_uk_nm/oukoe_uk_britain_mars_chocolate

Samina said...

Mars says sorry for animal products in chocolates: http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm
/20070520/od_uk_nm/oukoe_uk_
britain_mars_chocolate